Tags

, ,

I feel that I am in transition. Being home and reflecting on my life in the last year…I have come to realize that there is something bigger out there that is in store for me. Have you ever felt that way? That you are not serving your true life purpose?

My time in England seems like a lifetime ago…and it is almost my one year anniversary of when I moved back home!! I returned to working in medical social work and I just don’t feel that it is the right fit for me anymore. I go to work and I get referrals that really should be labelled as ‘we don’t know what to do with this so let’s give it to the social worker to figure out’…booking hotels…calling taxis…filling out forms…it’s more like I am an administrative assistant and this is not what I went to graduate school for. I want to feel that I am actually making a difference in someone’s life.

I have been working towards my goal of working with individuals in a private practice setting…or in a counselling service. I feel that this is what I was meant to do…and I am not able to utilize this skill set in the hospital. I have been taking courses and will eventually look into having supervision in a clinical setting. I know that I could open up my own practice now…but I just don’t feel ready to do that…I don’t know what lens I would practice from and I really need to do some work on myself in order to figure that out. I have been trying to take a different approach in life…just taking a step back…being patient…and trying not to over-analyze myself…and it has been working well for me…I am just trying to be and let the universe and my intuition guide me…

I am also going to get back into writing and release some of this creative energy that I have…I am not sure if that means writing more often in my blog or writing in some other form…but I want to thank everyone for all the positive feedback that I have received since starting this blog…and this post is for all the readers who have asked me for an update on what I have been up to since returning home.

I truly enjoy keeping in touch with my readers…and if you have an update on your where you are in your social work journey…please do keep me posted!

