Tags

, , , ,

I’m not keeping up with my blog as much as I would like to and it’s not necessarily because I don’t have the time or don’t have anything to write about (ok so maybe a little bit is about lack of time). In reality, I have so many things to write about and tweet about–whether it’s reflection of something happening in practice or with my colleagues in the office…but I am incredibly nervous of writing about them! I don’t think I’m going to write anything damning about my LA or colleagues, but I’m still trying to work out how to express myself while maintaining my anonymity.

As for work…well I’m definitely starting to feel the pressure. I’m slowly getting to know my families, but it’s overwhelming to go into complicated situations where not a lot of progress has been made, and then having to make an assessment on whether a child is at risk of significant harm. There are so many factors at play and I’m slowly trying to wrap my head around everything.

I sometimes question whether this role is for me…I do think that the experience I gain in this role will be highly beneficial for me in my career and even in my personal life. But the question is…will I enjoy it? There are days where I want to pull my hair out and throw my computer out the window because the documentation is endless. The timescales are endless. The conflicts are endless. The phone calls are endless. The emails are endless. It’s enough to drive anyone mad no matter how organized you are. What keeps me going is that the team I work with is highly supportive and will pitch in to help each other out…and that’s not something that is very common. I’ve had days where I have been so overwhelmed and I have been able to talk to colleagues about it and they are quick to lend an ear and ask how they can help. And much to my surprise, the manager, whom I thought was not going to be helpful has actually turned out to be the opposite. She often talks about having a work life balance and doing what I can to achieve this…which also includes not taking your work home with you…which I am trying so hard to avoid.

I have noticed that some social workers can be critical when it comes to various situations. Maybe I feel this because I’m too new in practicing social work in the UK and maybe because most of my career has been more of a supportive and counseling role or perhaps this is more of an assessment tool which allows the social worker to place the children’s needs first.

I am not sure what 2014 has in store for me and have not made any resolutions other than being happy and really understanding what being happy truly means. One thing I know for sure is that if I am not happy, it will be time to make some changes!

Have you made any resolutions or goals this year with regards to your career? Maybe penciling in a little bit more time for self care perhaps…since social workers are so good at preaching it and not practicing!

Whatever your goals are…I wish everyone happiness and peace in 2014!

